New gateways

For a long time I used to walk into a monastery compound without taking much notice of the gateway I had just walked through. Much like most other people, I suspect. But nowadays I am possibly as interested in the gateways as I am in what lies beyond them.

So as this blog (or at any rate, this new incarnation of an old blog) has a special page allocated to gateways, and as gateways may be the first we know of the presence of a temple or monastery, I am going to begin with a post about gateways. A post about new gateways, in fact.

The first is one I discovered in a nearby village just a few days ago and I re-visited it with a camera earlier today.

dsc03078

Wat Saeng Thong, Ban Na Sabaeng, Phana District,

Amnat Charoen Province

The gateway itself is impressive, but I particularly like the way that it frames the large Buddha image at the far end of the compound.

dsc03093

There is another side gate still uncompleted, very close to this main one. Here are the craftsmen at work completing the decoration .

dsc03086

dsc03085

dsc03091

So today I was lucky to see a gateway newly completed and another being worked on by a friendly gang of craftsmen. A few days ago I stopped on  my way to Ubon Ratchathani tp photograph a new gateway that has been standing in the same unfinished state for more than a month now. I suspect that more money is needed here!

dsc03074

Wat Pharoj, Ban Pharoj, Muang Samsip District

Ubon Ratchathani Province

Leave a comment